NRL Finals 2017

2018 NRL Finals

Watch the 2017 NRL Finals live at the Transcontinental Hotel, Brisbane.

As Brisbane CBD’s home of Rugby, we will be showing all the action with games displayed on our 100 inch projectors and HD screens with live music every Friday from 5pm! Don’t miss out on the chance to back your favourite team with betting facilities available at the bar.

Call (07) 3236 1366 or email to book a table.

Check out the finals draw here: NRL Finals Fixture


The 2017 NRL finals series important dates:

Week One: Qualifying Finals & Elimination Finals

The highest qualifying teams after 26 Rounds will host each match at their normal home venue, with exception to any Sydney based NRL club which will play their ‘home game’ at either the Allianz Stadium or ANZ Stadium.

Week Two: Semi Finals

The highest qualifying teams in each match (winners 3 & 4) will host in their home city.

Week Three: Preliminary Finals

The highest qualifying teams in each match (winners 1 & 2) will host in their home Region.

Week Four: Grand Final

Grand Final to be played at ANZ Stadium, Sydney.


NRL Finals History (courtesy of Fox Sports): 

Cronulla go into this finals series as the reigning premiers but they’ll have to make history to go back-to-back.

No side has successfully defended a premiership since 1997/98, with the Broncoswinning the Super League title before climbing the mountain again in the first year of unified competition after the Super League war.

You have to go back all the way to 1992/93 for the last time a side (once again Wayne Bennett’s Broncos) has won back-to-back unified competitions.

That’s not the only quirk of history set to shape this season’s finals series, with the current finals system starting to set a pattern for winners since 2012.

That was the first season the AFL’s system was adopted, whereby each of the top four teams get a double chance, while 5-8 kick off their playoffs campaign with elimination games.

The Storm won the 2012 premiership after qualifying second, with the Roosters the only side to have won the minor premiership before backing it up in the big dance (2013) within the current finals system.

Over the last three season the team which has finished third has gone on to win the title, with the Rabbitohs starting that trend in 2014 before being followed by the Cowboys (2015) and the Sharks (2016).

The Cowboys are the only side since 2012 to have lost a final (they went down 16-12 to the Broncos in their 2015 qualifying final) before bouncing back to win the title.

Join us at the Transcontinental Hotel to watch the 2018 NRL Finals. 

Posted in event.